© 2024 Blue Ridge Public Radio
Blue Ridge Mountains banner background
Your source for information and inspiration in Western North Carolina.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

How Buncombe County Voted

Turnout in Buncombe County was just over 71%, slightly above the state average for North Carolina.

Incumbents did well at the polls.  Both members of the U.S. House of Representatives from Buncombe County, Republicans Mark Meadows and Patrick McHenry, both easily won re-election.  McHenry did not win the vote in Buncombe, while Meadows carried it with less than a thousand votes.  Democrat Brownie Newman will be the next chair of the Buncombe County Board of Commissioners.  The current district 1 commissioner topped Republican Chuck Archerd.  Fellow Democrat Jasmine Beach-Ferrara ran unopposed to succeed Newman in District 1.  Republican incumbents Joe Belcher and Mike Fryar both won re-election, though Fryar's winning margin was just 207 votes.  Meanwhile, Democrats Hillary Clinton and Deborah Ross both carried Buncombe County easily, results they could not replicate statewide.  In the governor's race, Democrat Roy Cooper won the county almost 30-thousand votes...and that ended up being even bigger in his razor thin margin over Republican incumbent Pat McCrory.

Buncombe County Election Results